{
  "slug": "agility-digit-gen4",
  "name": "Digit (2020 generation)",
  "manufacturer": {
    "name": "Agility Robotics",
    "country": "US",
    "url": "https://www.agilityrobotics.com"
  },
  "category": "full-size",
  "announced": {
    "date": "2019-10-15",
    "source": {
      "url": "https://www.futuretimeline.net/blog/2019/10/15.htm",
      "quote": "The company, based in Albany, Oregon, USA, has just revealed the latest iteration of its 'Digit' robot.",
      "accessed": "2026-09-20"
    }
  },
  "specs": {
    "locomotion": {
      "value": "bipedal",
      "status": "shipped",
      "source": {
        "url": "https://www.aboutamazon.com/news/operations/amazon-introduces-new-robotics-solutions",
        "quote": "we will begin testing their bipedal robot, Digit, for use in our operations",
        "accessed": "2026-09-21"
      },
      "note": "Amazon's own newsroom names Digit a 'bipedal robot' directly, for the same generation covered by this record's shipped Ford/Amazon/GXO deployments."
    }
  },
  "price_history": [],
  "delivery": {
    "status": "shipped",
    "timeline": [
      {
        "date": "2026-10-26",
        "event": "announced",
        "detail": "GXO and Agility announce expanded deployment of Digit to GXO sites in North Carolina and Tennessee, with additional sites in 2027. This is an announcement, not receipt; the release does not name the Digit generation.",
        "quantity_min": null,
        "quantity_max": null,
        "sector": "logistics",
        "source": {
          "url": "https://finance.yahoo.com/technology/ai/articles/gxo-agility-robotics-expand-partnership-110000952.html",
          "quote": "Digit humanoid robots to expand to additional GXO sites in 2027, building on industry-first Robots-as-a-Service agreement",
          "accessed": "2026-10-27",
          "media_type": "article",
          "publisher_type": "official",
          "variant": "Digit (generation not stated in release)",
          "published": "2026-10-26",
          "review": {
            "status": "supported",
            "method": "text",
            "checked": "2026-10-27",
            "reason": "Joint release announces future expansion; no handover is established."
          }
        }
      }
    ],
    "evidence": [
      {
        "kind": "deployment",
        "customer": "GXO / SPANX",
        "detail": "GXO reports Digit robots operational at its SPANX warehouse by the 27 June 2024 publication; the source does not establish the delivery day or count.",
        "source": {
          "url": "https://investors.gxo.com/news-releases/news-release-details/gxo-signs-industry-first-multi-year-agreement-agility-robotics",
          "quote": "In the SPANX facility, Digit robots are assisting with repetitive tasks",
          "accessed": "2026-09-27",
          "media_type": "article",
          "publisher_type": "official",
          "variant": "Digit deployed at GXO SPANX",
          "published": "2024-06-27",
          "review": {
            "status": "supported",
            "method": "text",
            "checked": "2026-09-27",
            "reason": "Customer primary source supports operational deployment by publication, not a 2024-01-01 handover."
          }
        }
      },
      {
        "kind": "deployment",
        "customer": "GXO / SPANX",
        "detail": "Agility retrospectively identifies the customer-site generation at GXO as Digit 4. This links GXO’s operational report to this record; it does not establish an exact arrival date or independent verification.",
        "source": {
          "url": "https://www.agilityrobotics.com/content/agility-unveils-digit-5-humanoid-robot-built-for-cooperatively-safe-work-at-scale",
          "quote": "Digit 4 has logged more than 65,000 hours of operational time and work across numerous customer sites in North America, including GXO",
          "accessed": "2026-09-27",
          "media_type": "article",
          "publisher_type": "official",
          "variant": "Digit 4",
          "published": "2026-09-15",
          "review": {
            "status": "supported",
            "method": "text",
            "checked": "2026-09-27",
            "reason": "Manufacturer explicitly identifies GXO as a Digit 4 customer site; paired with GXO’s customer-primary deployment report. No exact handover date or count is proven."
          }
        }
      },
      {
        "kind": "pilot",
        "customer": "Amazon",
        "detail": "Amazon announced it would begin testing Digit; this wording does not establish receipt on publication day.",
        "source": {
          "url": "https://www.aboutamazon.com/news/operations/amazon-introduces-new-robotics-solutions",
          "quote": "we will begin testing their bipedal robot, Digit, for use in our operations.",
          "accessed": "2026-09-27",
          "media_type": "article",
          "publisher_type": "official",
          "variant": "Digit (generation unspecified)",
          "review": {
            "status": "insufficient",
            "method": "text",
            "checked": "2026-09-27",
            "reason": "Future-tense testing statement alone does not prove receipt or this record’s hardware generation."
          }
        }
      },
      {
        "kind": "deployment",
        "customer": "GXO / Flowery Branch",
        "detail": "Joint GXO and Agility press release (GLOBE NEWSWIRE, 2026-10-26) reports Digit has moved more than 100,000 totes at GXO's Flowery Branch facility. The release does not name the Digit generation, the exact delivery date or the unit count.",
        "source": {
          "url": "https://finance.yahoo.com/technology/ai/articles/gxo-agility-robotics-expand-partnership-110000952.html",
          "quote": "Since then, Digit has moved more than 100,000 totes at the Flowery Branch facility",
          "accessed": "2026-10-27",
          "media_type": "article",
          "publisher_type": "official",
          "variant": "Digit (generation not stated in release)",
          "published": "2026-10-26",
          "review": {
            "status": "supported",
            "method": "text",
            "checked": "2026-10-27",
            "reason": "Joint release by customer and manufacturer supports operation at the named site; generation is not stated, so it is linked to Digit 4 only through the earlier Agility statement."
          }
        }
      }
    ]
  },
  "capabilities": [
    {
      "id": "box-handling",
      "status": "shipped",
      "autonomy": "unknown",
      "source": {
        "url": "https://www.agilityrobotics.com/content/digit-moves-over-100k-totes",
        "quote": "picking items on and off an AMR to a conveyor",
        "accessed": "2026-09-27",
        "media_type": "article",
        "publisher_type": "official",
        "review": {
          "status": "insufficient",
          "method": "text",
          "checked": "2026-09-27",
          "reason": "The text source was reviewed, but no video segment was watched; the existing capability status and autonomy classification for Digit (2020 generation) were not fully verified."
        }
      },
      "note": "GXO's Flowery Branch facility, named customer, 100,000+ totes moved by late 2025. Agility's own page describes the task and separately states the underlying pipeline 'blends traditional control methods, teleoperated demonstrations, policy training, and refinement' -- it does not explicitly say current day-to-day operation runs with no human in the loop, so autonomy is recorded as unknown rather than autonomous, per this dataset's strict rule."
    }
  ],
  "promises": [
    {
      "id": "agility-digit-app-delivery-2024",
      "claim": "First Digit deliveries to Agility Partner Program customers",
      "target": "2024",
      "made_on": "2023-09-18",
      "quote": "customers that are participating in the Agility Partner Program (APP) can expect delivery of the first Digits in 2024, with general market availability in 2025",
      "source_url": "https://www.agilityrobotics.com/content/opening-robofab-worlds-first-factory-for-humanoid-robots",
      "source_name": "Agility Robotics, RoboFab opening announcement",
      "accessed": "2026-09-27",
      "status": "met",
      "met_evidence": "https://gxo.com/news_article/shaping-supply-chains-with-humanoid-technology/"
    },
    {
      "id": "agility-digit-general-availability-2025",
      "claim": "General market availability of Digit",
      "target": "2025",
      "made_on": "2023-09-18",
      "quote": "with general market availability in 2025",
      "source_url": "https://www.agilityrobotics.com/content/opening-robofab-worlds-first-factory-for-humanoid-robots",
      "source_name": "Agility Robotics, RoboFab opening announcement",
      "accessed": "2026-09-27",
      "status": "open"
    }
  ],
  "media": [
    {
      "type": "patent",
      "file": "media/agility-digit-gen4/usd888120-fig3.png",
      "caption": "Figure 3 (front view) from Agility Robotics' design patent for this Digit generation, filed 2019-10-15.",
      "source": {
        "url": "https://patents.google.com/patent/USD888120S1/en",
        "accessed": "2026-09-21"
      },
      "license": {
        "name": "USPTO design patent",
        "terms_url": "https://patents.google.com/patent/USD888120S1/en",
        "note": "Public record; design patent drawing, not a copyrighted photograph. Priority date 2019-01-22, filing date 2019-10-15, matching this generation's announcement date."
      },
      "patent_number": "USD888,120 S",
      "credit": "USPTO / Agility Robotics, Inc."
    }
  ],
  "notes": [
    "This record covers Digit 4, the generation Agility retrospectively identifies at GXO and other production-floor customers after roughly three years of use by September 2026. Ford’s CES 2020 first-customer announcement concerns an earlier Digit generation and is not evidence for Digit 4. GXO’s operational deployment supports shipped status for this exact generation.",
    "No directly sourced height, weight, payload, or battery specifications for Digit 4 were located during this build, so specs remain empty rather than borrowing Digit 5 figures. See agility-digit for the distinct Digit 5 generation and its claimed specifications.",
    "Digit is sold as Robots-as-a-Service, not a one-time purchase, so price_history is intentionally empty.",
    "Shipped status rests on GXO’s named operational Digit deployment, with Agility’s 15 September 2026 account explicitly identifying the GXO robots as Digit 4. Amazon’s 2023 future-tense testing announcement remains insufficient for customer receipt in that report; Ford 2020 is excluded from this generation. Exact delivery dates, unit counts, and independent variant verification remain unknown.",
    "actuator_torque_nm, battery_wh, charge_time_min, sdk, warranty, and order_type remain omitted for lack of sourced figures for this generation. No exact first-customer-delivery event or sector is asserted.",
    "Scan 2026-10-27: the joint GXO/Agility release (2026-10-26) does not state which Digit generation goes to the new North Carolina and Tennessee sites. A Humanoids Daily headline says 'Starting With Digit 4'; that page was not verified, so the expansion is recorded as an announcement without a generation."
  ],
  "updated": "2026-10-27",
  "simulation": {
    "review": {
      "status": "not_confirmed",
      "checked": "2026-09-27",
      "urls": [
        "https://www.agilityrobotics.com"
      ],
      "reason": "Targeted searches found no confirmed model for this record; does not mean unavailable."
    },
    "artifacts": []
  },
  "actuator_architecture": {
    "review": {
      "status": "not_confirmed",
      "checked": "2026-09-27",
      "urls": [
        "https://www.agilityrobotics.com"
      ],
      "reason": "Targeted actuator searches did not confirm an exact-variant architecture claim for this record; this does not mean none exists."
    },
    "groups": []
  },
  "url": "https://humanoidrecord.com/robots/agility-digit-gen4/",
  "license": "https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/",
  "attribution": "humanoidrecord.com",
  "generated_at": "2026-11-03T10:59:20.283Z"
}